Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

i wanna talk somalia

Discussion in 'Anarchism and radical activism' started by grippster, Nov 1, 2012.

1. grippster

grippster Member Forum Member

Oct 29, 2012

ive been an anarchist for a while now. and ive been dyin to go to somalia because it does not have a central government. i ssearched topics on somalia thinking it was probably a popular topic. It seems most were bashing on it saying it was an anarcho-capitilist country.

SOOO? cant we be happy theres at least one country without government? people have been working togethor there for a long time now to raise families. they also have internet. with no government.

lookin for thoughts since i have never discussed anarchy with other anarchists except for my friend.

2. Shuei

Shuei Experienced Member Experienced member Forum Member

Jan 19, 2010

Well, I'm no expert on the topic, but isn't it just trading one elite-rule for the other? Capitalists acting as a state is even less democratic than what we've got... One authority to the other, but this authority will have even less limitations to its power?

But of course, it can be nice to see that the inevitable argument "you can't have a society without a central government" can be (slightly) dismissed. Though I do have my doubts about its stability - As long as there's capitalism, there will be social elites and the social elites will have authority, which will eventually lead to some sort of conflict. I'm not going to say "class-warfare", but something like that.

3. nclpw

nclpw Experienced Member Experienced member Forum Member

May 25, 2012

You mean you want to live there? I don`t know where you live currently or how your situation is, but taking the high rates of unemployment, poverty and droughts/famine over there in consideration, I doubt you`d have a nice time.