Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Swell Maps - Partial Discography - 1979-1999 (UK)

Discussion in 'Other downloads' started by nike, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. nike

    nikeExperienced Member Experienced member Forum Member




    Jun 19, 2011
    A Trip To Marineville (1979)


      External download. Please report any broken link by posting a reply to this thread.

    Track List:

    01. H.S. Art
    02. Another Song
    03. Vertical Slum
    04. Spitfire Parade
    05. Harmony In Your Bathroom
    06. Don't Throw Ashtrays At Me
    07. Midget Submarines
    08. Bridge Head (Pt.9)
    09. Full Moon In My Pocket
    10. Blam!!
    11. Full Moon (Reprise)
    12. Gunboats
    13. Adventuring Into Basketry
    14. My Lil' Shops Round The Corner

    Jane From Occupied Europe (1980)


      External download. Please report any broken link by posting a reply to this thread.

    Track List:

    01. Robot Factory
    02. Let's Buy A Bridge
    03. Border Country
    04. Cake Shop
    05. The Helicopter Spies
    06. Big Maz In The Desert
    07. Big Empty Field
    08. Mining Villages
    09. Collision With A Frogman...
    10. ...vs. The Mangrove Delta Plan
    11. Secret Island
    12. Whatever Happens Next...
    13. Blenheim Shots
    14. Raining In My Room

    International Rescue (Sampler 1999)


      External download. Please report any broken link by posting a reply to this thread.

    Track List:

    01. International Rescue
    02. Real Shocks
    03. Let's Build A Car
    04. Black Velvet
    05. Ammunition Train
    06. Ripped & Torn
    07. Secret Island
    08. Read About Seymor
    09. Get Down And Get With It
    10. Spitfire Parade
    11. New York
    12. Forest Fire
    13. Winter Rainbow
    14. Dresden Style (City Boys)
    15. Off The Beach (Spilling Coffee)
    16. One Of The Crowd
    17. Vertical Slum
    18. H.A.K.
    19. I Really Love
    20. ???

    Studio Albums
    A Trip to Marineville (July 1979)
    Jane From Occupied Europe (1980)

    Whatever Happens Next... (1981)
    Collision Time (1981)
    Train Out of It (1986)
    Collision Time Revisited (1989)
    International Rescue (1999)
    Sweep The Desert (2000)

    "Read About Seymour" (1977)
    "Dresden Style" (1978)
    "Real Shocks" (1979)
    "Let's Build a Car" (1979)

    Swell Maps Biography

    Swell Maps were a British experimental rock group of the 1970s from Birmingham, that foreshadowed the birth of post-punk.

    Influenced by the disparate likes of T. Rex and the German progressive outfit Can, they created a new soundscape that would be heavily mined by others in the post-punk era. Despite existing in various forms since 1972, Swell Maps only really came together as a musical entity after the birth of British punk rock.

    Consisting of brothers Epic Soundtracks (real name Kevin Godfrey) and Nikki Sudden (real name Nicholas Godfrey) two Solihull based teenagers, plus Richard Earl, David Barrington, John Cockrill and Jowe Head, the band cut the single "Read About Seymour" as their debut in 1977, soon after the brothers left Solihull School (also home of Spizzenergi). It is widely considered one of the classic punk era singles. Epic's drumming mixed with Nikki's unique melodies crafted over the assorted threads cast by the six musicians set the band apart from the others. After recording their first John Peel session Swell Maps went into WMRS studio to record their first album A Trip to Marineville, which was released in 1979. With hard rocking punk numbers like "H.S. Art" interspersed by ambient instrumentals and other experimental interludes like "Gunboats", the album marked the band out as innovative non-musicians. The album went #1 on the new Independent chart.

    The band cut one more album, The Swell Maps in 'Jane From Occupied Europe', in 1980, which pushed further into post-punk territory. They displayed their ingenuity for creating everything from industrial surf instrumentals like the opener "Robot Factory" to perverse ballads like "Cake Shop Girl". Even while they were falling apart during these sessions they were pushing the musical boundaries beyond what punk originally had to offer. They sought to release much of their early forays in lo-fi experimenation in the compilation, Whatever Happens Next..., before splitting up.

    Since their split the legend of the Swell Maps has grown, through their influence on the C86 bands, lo-fi, and other pioneers like Sonic Youth and Pavement. Individual members of the band (especially Nikki Sudden, Epic Soundtracks and Jowe Head) went on to solo careers. The band's catalogue has recently been remastered and reissued and further dips into their archives can be expected. An EP of especially zany tracks was released under the name of the Phones Sportsman Band in 1980. After an interval of over 25 years away from music, the Phones Sportsman Band has now reformed in January 2008.

    Epic Soundtracks died of unknown causes at the age of 37 in 1997 and Nikki Sudden died in March 2006.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.