Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Submission Hold - Progress (As If Survival Mattered) - 1998 (Canada)

Discussion in 'Anarcho-Punk music albums downloads' started by Mike Generic, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. Mike Generic

    Mike GenericExperienced Member Uploader Experienced member Forum Member




    Mar 29, 2010


    1. Blue Light Specia
    2. Tuesday Afternoon At The Stock Exchange
    3. Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
    4. R.S.D. 8100 Motions
    5. Water
    6. Spiritual Equivalent Of Oxygen
    7. All People Are Equal, But Some People Are More Equal Than Others
    8. Letter To Myself
    9. Flag+Flame=Fun
    10. Declaration Of War
    11. Predisposed To Oppose
    12. ABC Of Degeneracy
    13. Truth Decay
    14. Quagga/HeaT


    Progress (As If Survival Mattered)
    Release Date : 1998

    Comes with a sticker and 36 page booklet with lyrics in English, French, & German.Recorded at Profile Studios, Vancouver, BC.Tracks 1-10 were recorded April 1997. Tracks 11-14 were recorded March 1996.Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6 were released on the split 12" with Sake. Tracks 5, 7, 9 were released on the Flag + Flame = Fun 7". Tracks 11-14 were released on the Kamikaze Quagga 7".A co-rel

    Submission Hold Biography

    Submission Hold were a Canadian punk band from Vancouver active from 1993 to 2005. They were known for their unusual sound, once labeled "post-genre", which combines hardcore punk with elements of experimental and Eastern European folk music. Submission Hold's lyrics often related to anarchist and feminist politics, but often with a more poetic and abstract quality than similar political bands. The band was known as Insult To Injury from 1993 to 1995 prior to changing their name.

    Band members: Jen Thorpe, Stephen Flach, Andy Healey
    Band ex-members: , Kenton Loewen, Phil (57)

    Formed in 1993, Vancouver agit-punk band Submission Hold is now in its second decade of creating and disseminating provocative sounds and challenging dialogue. Fusing experimental punk sounds with free-improv, eastern folk, chamber music and radically political lyrics, Submission Hold has created a style all their own. Dubbed "post-genre" by Pop Matters magazine, Submission Hold has often been held in the same regard as bands like Fugazi, Sonic Youth and legendary Dutch noise-makers The Ex. Over the past eleven years Submission Hold has played in more than twenty countries, as well as every major Canadian city and many more smaller towns along the way. While maintaining the core group of vocalist Jen Throw-Up, guitarist Stephen Flach, bassist Andy Healey and Kenton Loewen on the drums, they have made many musical collaborations over the years. One long standing connection is with U.K. based flutist Kirsten Elliott. Elliott first appeared in 1997 on Submission Hold's "Progress (...as if survival mattered)" and is featured live and on record with the band, when her busy schedule permits. Other notable collaborations have been in the guise of the band's improvisational alter-ego, The Din. The Din is pure improvised music and tends to make rare appearances on Submission Hold tours. While retaining a DIY spirit, The Din has played with such internationally renowned players as the American percussionist Gino Robair (Tom Waits, John Zorn, Splatter Trio), local Vancouverite Ken Morrisson (Robert Reigle's Surrealestate) and in Aalborg, Denmark the group was honoured to be led by the avant guard Dutch conductor Gert-Jan Polderman, to name just a few. Submission Hold has over 15 official releases. Their music and ideas have been released on their own label, Allium, as well as the Goleta, California based Ebullition Records, England's Flat Earth, Civolentia Violenta from Argentina and Radio 1, a record label from Melbourne, Australia. Their records have also been re-released on small, independent labels from Indonesia to Poland to Brazil and many places in between.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.

    Label - Flat Earth

    British hardcore/punk label and DIY distributor founded March 1986 by the 'Flat Earth Collective' and later run by David "Sned" Sneddon (and Alec (5) in the 90's glory years!) until 2011. The label's roster included Sedition, Disaffect, One By One, Generic, Doom...