Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Orchid - Demo - 1998 (U$A)

Discussion in 'Other downloads' started by punkmar77, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. punkmar77

    punkmar77Experienced Member Staff Member Uploader Admin Team Experienced member




    Nov 13, 2009
     United States


    Live demo 1998
    Release Date : 1998

    Recorded live at the KDVS radio studio in Davis, California, 1997.

    Orchid Biography

    Black Thrash Metal from Oakland, CA

    Weakling was initially started by guitarist John Gossard and guitarist/drum programmer Robert Williams of Ubzub. The two ended up releasing an early version of "No One Can be Called As A Man While He'll Die" on a compilation tape Wintergrief released by Nahitfol Productions in 1996. Briefly, Gossard and Williams continued with Weakling adding Jim Mack on bass, and Antoine Reuben on drums. When John Gossard left the band, the trio continued on as Black Goat.

    In September of 2005 Black Goat was included in, “The State of the Headbanger Kvlt” at the Yerba Buena Center For The Arts in San Francisco, CA. A the program featured cutting-edge Extreme Metal music videos featuring a wide cross-section of the headbanger underground, the sub-genres presented from Death/Thrash Metal music to Scandinavian Black Metal, represent the burgeoning state of the die-hard cult state of Metal music produced and presented by BlackMetal.com and YBCA Presents.

    Band members: Rob Williams (10), Jim Mack, Demonic Hellbutcher
    Band ex-members: , John Gossard, Antoine Reuben-Diavola

    There are at least 9 artists called Orchid:
    1. A skramz band from Amherst, Massachusetts
    2. A doom metal band from San Francisco, California
    3. Helix Tears and Bloodshounds singer/rappper, https://soundcloud.com/0rch_id
    4. An indie-pop band Poznan, Poland
    5. A rock band from Halifax, Nova Scotia
    6. an alias of Alexander Tooth
    7. a "post-prog" band from Chapel Hill, North Carolina.
    8. A progressive metal/mathcore band from Bangalore, India. Renamed to Maneating Orchid
    9. A pop rap/indie rock duo based in Arizona known for their songs "Mama" and "Catatonia"

    1. Active from 1998 to 2002, Orchid was first and foremost a skramz band. Orchid combined a post-modern aesthetic with hardcore punk, releasing several now hard to find splits (with bands including The Red Scare, Jeromes Dream, Combatwoundedveteran, Encyclopedia of American Traitors and the grindcore band Pig Destroyer), a 10” record (Dance Tonight! Revolution Tomorrow! on Ebullition Records) and an LP (Chaos Is Me on Ebullition Records). Orchid’s members more often cite the German bands Systral and Carol as influences, as well as the French philosopher Michel Foucault. Dance Tonight! Revolution Tomorrow! and Chaos Is Me were released together as a single album, also on Ebullition Records. The band’s final release before their break-up was a self-titled album (commonly referred to as Gatefold) on Ebullition Records. Members went on to form the bands Wolves, Panthers, Ampere, Bucket Full of Teeth, and Transistor Transistor. Posthumously, a CD compiling all of their singles and split releases (Totality on Clean Plate Records) was released. The CD also contains compilation tracks and songs from the Dance Tonight… Sessions.

    The band was formed while the members were studying at Hampshire College in Amherst, Massachusetts in early 1998. Orchid played its last shows in a number of cities during the summer of 2002, the last of which was at the Advocate in Harvard Square in Boston.

    The aforementioned Jerome’s Dream split was a one sided 10” in the shape of a skull. It was pressed in red ink, black ink, and glow in the dark black ink, with one band’s songs playing from the inside out and the other from the outside in.

    Former band member Will Killingsworth opened his own label called Clean Plate records, which now is producing Orchid shirts again. This is being done due to bootleg shirts going for a lot of money on eBay, and the real shirts going for equal if not more amounts. in other words, this was to get rid of the high prices.

    2. ORCHID (SF) hail from San Francisco, California. They began playing live in and around San Francisco in early 2008. Since that time they have shared the stage with such heavies as Pentagram, Earthless, Nachtmystium, Fu Manchu, Astra, Slough Feg, Ludicra, and Hammers of Misfortune.

    ORCHID signed with German Doom label The Church Within Records in October of 2009 and released their debut EP Through the Devil’s Doorway in December of that year to much praise and critical acclaim from both European and American press.
    A full length LP, Capricorn, was released in February of 2011.


    3. orchid is a singer/rapper. Member of popular soundcloud collectives Helix Tears and Bloodhounds. https://soundcloud.com/0rch_id orchid

    4. Orchid (a.k.a. Orchid_PL) is a polish Indie-Pop band formed in 2005 in Poznan, PL- a city in a mid way between Warsaw and Berlin. The band is currently composed of 5 band members, where the main force are girls (3 of them). Much of their music focuses on simple guitar-based melodies. It meets the electronics, but not very modern, rather vintage.

    In April of 2007 Orchid recorded, produced and released their first EP takk!_soundsampler . This release can be downloaded via jamendo.com..
    In April 2009 the band released first LP Driving With a Hand Brake On . The debut album is available via their website.

    5. The Orchid is a band from Halifax, Nova Scotia, with an album due to be released in August, 2007.

    6. Orchid is an alias of Alexander Tooth, progressive house and breaks producer with releases on Gravitation Records, Hope recordings, Secret Planet & Silver Planet Recordings.

    7. Orchid is also a "post-prog" band from Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.

    Label - Blackmetal.com

    Completely female-operated metal label and distributor run and owned by Debbie Jaffe. Started of as "Extreme Subterranea" in 1996, and was properly registered with the domain name BlackMetal.com in March 1997. The company consists of a mailorder branch and the label BlackMetal.com Records.



    Jeromes Dream


    Love Lost but Not Forgotten

    City of Caterpillar