Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

French Krigskade - demo tape - 2013 (France)

Discussion in 'International anarcho-punk downloads' started by crustybeckham, Mar 9, 2013.

  1. crustybeckham

    crustybeckhamExperienced Member Experienced member Forum Member




    Jan 22, 2012


    Click on the link above to download the file


    10 songs of Scandinavian-flavoured hardcore punk from Paris with lyrics in Danish.

    1. Blod pa christianborg
    2. Heroin
    3. Dansk folkecirkus
    4. Sygdom
    5. Kontortid
    6. Aldrig
    7. TV sekt
    8. Dumt sporgsmal
    9. Cadekamp
    10. Social krig

    The full review from Terminal Sound Nuisance:
    Picking a name for a punk band has always been a tricky endeavour. Going for something too original or obscure might confuse your average punk lover. For instance, 3-Way Cum is not - at all - a goregrind band but an excellent Swedish crusty hardcore band. Similarly, Pretty Little Flowers don't play indie-rock but old-school grindcore. On the other hand, names that are too obvious can deter the punters too. Sometimes you feel you know what a band sounds like just because of the name and therefore don't give the band a chance, which, sometimes, can be a really bad move.


    My point is that you should give Krigskade a shot as it is Paris' premier - and only - scandi-influenced hardcore punk band. "Krigskade" means "war damages" in Danish and actually all the lyrics are written in this language. But don't jump to the conclusion that Krigskade is to Danish what Isterismo is to Italian: a fucking disgrace. In fact, Krigskade's singer is fluent in Danish, his native language. Basically, this is the Scandinavian punk experience in Paris: a great, aggressive-sounding language AND plenty of dogs as well as filthy toilets at gigs.


    In terms of music, the boys definitely know what they are doing. It has the raspy, rocking vibe of Totalitär, the fury of Krigshot and the raw quality of early Diskonto. You would be mistaken however to think Sweden is the only point of reference here as several breaks in the songs, tempo changes and chorus are strongly reminiscent of US hardcore (and indeed the lads are no stranger to this genre). The vocals are antagonistic and angry but, assuming you speak Danish, you can actually understand what the geezer is on about as they are shouted in a distinct fashion (as opposed to being growled). The bass is really up front and has a fitting distorted sound. The guitar sound has a slightly buzzing quality but remains relatively clear and is not distorted out of proportion, not unlike Italian bands like EU's Arse or even some Wretched records. The drumming is on a par with the rest, the breaks are performed with efficiency and a sense of purpose, and the D is lovingly beaten in tribute to Anti-Cimex. On the whole, you can tell the band had a clear idea of what they wanted to achieve in terms of sound and song-writing.


    This tape was recorded last year but only came out a few weeks ago. As you can see, the artwork is stunning and aptly reflects the day's most alienating moment: the rush hour, when everyone goes from nowhere to nowhere (Anti-Nowhere League reference for ya!). The lyrics are of a political nature and are delivered with ferocity on stage. Though in Danish, English explanations are provided. "Blod pa Christianborg" points out the absurdity of Denmark's involvement in US imperialistic wars; "Heroin" is about smack; "Dansk folkecirkus" is about the rise of the far-right in Denmark and the image of respectability it seems to gain (but let's not be mistaken here, the shit still stinks!); "Kontortid" deals with alienation and anger; "Aldrig" is a song about Ungdomshuset and how it has become a meaningful symbol of resistance for us; "TV sekt" is a call for the turning off of the various shiny screens that make up our daily lives; "Dumt sporgsmal?!" is the necessary statement that meat is still murder (and yes that includes fish and people); "Cadekamp" is about time theft (also known in modern society as "work"); finally "Social krig" is a description of our brave new world, a dehumanized, controlled, plutocratic, ruthless world.


    Like Peur Panique with whom they share a member (Fukushimike is incredibly the same dude as Suomike), Krigskade is a great live band and when on stage they do covers of Blitz' "I don't need you" (they actually had to take glue-sniffing lessons in order to do it properly) and that one creepy No Hope For the Kids song.



    Peur Panique

    Zombies Are Pissed!

    Fat Beavers

    Moms On Meth

    Gorilla Gripping
Similar Threads - Krigskade demo tapeForumDate
Blind Eye - Blind Eye demo cassette - 2019 (England)Anarcho-Punk music albums downloadsFeb 14, 2020
Desadaptado Social - Ecocidio demo - 2020 (U$A)Anarcho-Punk music albums downloadsFeb 7, 2020
New band: Nightbreed "Devilsnight" demoMusic, punk scene & subculturesOct 30, 2019
Anarcho-Hip-Hop. My effort to spread Anarchism to a whole new demographicMusic, punk scene & subculturesMar 18, 2019
Fischtanke - Running the Red (demo/rehearsal) 1988ishAnarcho-Punk music albums downloadsMay 25, 2018