1. Welcome to the new version of the website! We upgraded and improved the forums with a lot of new features. Please share this website with your friends and contribute to the forums posting new debates or sharing information with the other members. Let's build back the biggest online anarcho-punk community together :)

    In case you missed it, read these threads to see the summary of the recent updates:
    Anarcho-Punk.net - New version
    Introducing the new & improved APN Downloads System
Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

JEFFREY LEWIS - 12 Crass Songs

Discussion in 'Anarcho-Punk music albums downloads' started by Anxiety69, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. Anxiety69

    Anxiety69Experienced Member Experienced member Forum Member




    Oct 18, 2009


    Interesting anti-folk take on crass classics.

    01 End Result 3:26
    02 I Ain't Thick, It's Just A Trick 5:05
    03 Systematic Death 3:28
    04 The Gasman Cometh 3:07
    05 Banned From The Roxy 1:59
    06 Where Next Colombus? 4:18
    07 Do They Owe Us A Living? 1:42
    08 Securicor 1:33
    09 Demoncrats 5:47
    10 Big A, Little A 5:12
    11 Punk Is Dead 2:57
    12 Walls (Fun In The Oven) 3:29

    JEFFREY LEWIS Biography

    There are two artists called Jeffrey Lewis. One (b. 1975) is an American singer-songwriter, the other is a Welsh composer.

    Jeffrey Lewis is an American singer/songwriter and comic-book artist, part of the Anti-folk movement. Several of his musical influences have been acknowledged in his songs such as The Chelsea Hotel Oral Sex Song, concerning the song by Leonard Cohen, and The History of The Fall. Like Cohen, Lewis' lyrics are complex and literate, often combining a depressing world-view with a hopeful message and sharp wit. Born in New York City and growing up on the Lower East Side of Manhattan Island his songs are also highly informed by his home surroundings, with songs namechecking places such as Williamsburg, the FDR Drive and the East River.

    Jeffrey Lewis was born in New York in November 1975. He attended State University of New York at Purchase College and graduated in 1997; his final thesis was on the Alan Moore graphic novel "Watchmen".

    After being signed by the British record label Rough Trade in 2001, Lewis released his first official album The Last Time I Did Acid I Went Insane, and in 2003 he released the album It's the Ones Who've Cracked That the Light Shines Through. His latest record, City & Eastern Songs, was released in the U.K. in November 2005. All three albums also include his brother, Jack Lewis, who wrote and sang a number of the songs. He has also performed and collaborated with fellow New York Anti-folk singers Kimya Dawson and Diane Cluck.

    His latest album, 12 Crass Songs was released on Rough Trade in Europe in September of 2007. As the title suggests, it is 12 covers of the British anarchist punk band Crass. It features vocals, keyboard and recorder from Helen Shriner, bass by both John Kessel and brother Jack Lewis, drums by David Beachamp (live drummer/The Bloodugars) and Raphi Gottesman (who often plays with Jack Lewis). Shwervon's Nan Turner also contributes vocals to various tracks.

    Jeffrey Lewis is a Welsh composer. After graduating from University College, Cardiff, he studied composition with Stockhausen, Ligeti, and Boguslaw Schaffer, and electronic composition with Don Banks. His early career was spent as a pianist with the Paris Chamber Ensemble; after his return to the U.K, in 1973 he joined the Department of Music at the University College of North Wales, Bangor.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.


    Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard

    The Moldy Peaches

    Kimya Dawson

    The Mountain Goats

    Adam Green
  2. glyn123456

    glyn123456Member Forum Member




    Nov 23, 2013
     United Kingdom
  3. Paczilla

    PaczillaExperienced Member Experienced member




    Jun 28, 2012
     United States
    Took me a while to find this, thanks.
  4. xrayspex

    xrayspexNew Member New Member




    Feb 28, 2015
    Thank you
  5. maslahe

    maslaheNew Member New Member




    Apr 17, 2015
Similar Threads - JEFFREY LEWIS CrassForumDate
Jeffrey Lewis, anyone?Music, punk scene & subculturesOct 1, 2010
Jeffrey "Free" Luers - did you know name of his band?General DiscussionNov 6, 2015