Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

French Hiatus - The Brain / El Sueño De La Razon Produce Monstruos CD - 1995 (Belgium)

Discussion in 'International anarcho-punk downloads' started by crustybeckham, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. crustybeckham

    crustybeckhamExperienced Member Uploader Experienced member Forum Member




    Jan 22, 2012


      External download. Please report any broken link by posting a reply to this thread.


    Track List:

    01. Down With The Ballot Box
    02. Home Sweet Home
    03. Ultimate Decision
    04. Edge Of The Abyss
    05. Shadow Of A Picture
    06. As Machines
    07. Through Ages
    08. Burn
    09. Instrumental (practice '96)
    10. Destroy Me
    11. Time Is Money
    12. Discliche
    13. Good Luck
    14. Raw Screen
    15. Shut That Big Mouth
    16. God Is Cool
    17. Vacant Not Empty
    18. Overwhelmed
    19. Cramped For Space
    20. Hell Is Near
    21. Opposites
    22. Mr. Innocent
    23. Pathetic Sounds
    24. Let Derby Punk

    Never mind the spelling mistake (yes, it is "monstros"), here you have Hiatus' last two recordings on one cd, namely "The Brain" from 1996 and "El Sueño" from 1995. Hiatus was one of the very best European bands of the 90's as far as good and powerful crust punk is concerned. They started out in the late 80's as a Doom/Sore Throat/Discard band but had the great taste to add some Antisect influence in the mix. To be honest, Hiatus didn't put out a bad or even an average record.

    The first 8 songs of the cd are from the last 10" and they may surprise some with their melodic, almost emocore undertones in the guitar and the drumming (you can hear that Unhinged wasn't too far away by then) while keeping a distinctive crust backbone. The remaining songs are all from the 2nd Lp and here we are in traditional Hiatus territory: fast, potent, catchy crustcore, the way the genre was meant to be played. The vocals are awesome and the drum is just pummelling its way through crusty greatness. Lyrically, Hiatus really wrote their best lyrics on these last two records. Gone are the dischargey haikus and instead you have political songs from a personnal point of view, and by this I mean from actual experiences, from the guts, they are stories one can easily relate to.

    The whole booklet has been scanned. You'll find the lyrics in English but also French translations, pictures, flyers from their various tours (and they toured a lot) as well as the story of their last tour (in English and in French) full of funny anecdotes and drunken stories.

    Members of Hiatus went on to play in Unhinged, Skew Whiff, Twisted System, Loadead, Deafenestration and Visions of War.

    Hiatus Biography

    Hiatus refers to at least 2 artists (an electronic/ambient music producer and a crust punk band):

    1. Hiatus (Cyrus Shahrad), is an Iranian ambient musician, who lives in south London and has released various EPs and two full length LPs — Ghost Notes and Parklands. He began recording as Hiatus in 2003, when an American friend mailed him a copy of Reason and the necessary gadgets to run instruments directly into his computer. Hiatus later independently released three EPs — Dusky (EP) [2005], Twilight Kingdom [2006], Nobody (EP) [2008], – each individual CD burned in iTunes, tagged with marker pen and posted by hand to friends, family and the occasional media flunky. Another EP 'Save Yourself' was released in 2010, this year also saw the release of his debut full length,Ghost Notes. Cyrus also collaborated with Smoke Feathers for Change Up EP, which was released in 2012. After giving out some free music, Hiatus released his second LP in 2013, entitled Parklands. His latest EP, The Crossing EP was released earlier this year.
    Cyrus also writes for various acclaimed magazines and newspapers on a range of subjects, including music and movie reviews. You can get the latest on Hiatus on http://www.cyrusshahrad.com/.

    2. Hiatus formed in May 1989.They played in a Doom/Discharge/E.N.T. style.Political D.I.Y band from belgium, that would become well known in the underground Hardcore/Punk scene of that time. Technically good for the kind of music they made, they were one of the ensigns of crust-core in early 90's. Hiatus would later redefine their sound completely on their final release, and finest work, "The Brain" as they grew sick of the songs they had constantly toured. The music moved up a notch, Willy's vocals become more powerful and with more anger/conviction than the tired Doom-style vocals for which he was known (Willy had actually filled in for the band Doom in the past! No surprise there!) They released albums under several D.I.Y labels such as Skuld Releases, Profane Existence, Nabate, Urban alert, Mother peace Rec. and Sound polution (It is needed to confirm for this article if they released an album with Don't Belong rcs,spain).Disbanded in mid 90's, some of the members would later form a band called Unhinged.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.