Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

HAGAR THE WOMB - Xntrix Sessions 1982

Discussion in 'Anarcho-Punk music albums downloads' started by Anxiety69, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. Anxiety69

    Anxiety69Experienced Member Uploader Experienced member Forum Member




    Oct 18, 2009
    Male, 45 years old
    Long Beach CA United States

    These are from a scrapped session for a proposed mortarhate tape.

    01 Truth
    02 Polluted Ideals
    03 Today’s Miss World
    04 Dressed To Kill
    05 Routine
    06 Rabies
    07 Silent Minority
    08 Cardboard Theatre
    09 Remalada
    10 For The Ferryman
    11 Armchair Observer
    12 By Force
    13 Dressed To Kill
    14 Dressed To Kill
    15 Rock And Roll part 2
    16 instrumental 1
    17 instrumental 2


    Xntrix Studio Sessions / Rehearsals – 1982
    Release Date : 1982

    HAGAR THE WOMB Biography

    Hagar the Womb are an English punk rock band, active between 1981-1987. They re-formed in 2011 and the band is ongoing. Part of the Anarcho-Punk movement. Members went on to form We are Going to Eat You and Melt. The band play regular gigs and punk festivals and are on All The Madmen record label.

    Hagar the Womb were a punk band active in the early 80's and part of the Anarcho Punk movement. They reunited after 25 years, in 2012.

    The band was formed in the toilets of the Wapping Anarchy Centre, established by the efforts of seminal Anarchist bands Crass and Poison Girls, in 1980. One week after forming they played their first gig with Zounds and The Mob. The band were originally all-female in an attempt to add a female voice to what they saw as a male-dominated movement, and the band refused to conform to the stylistic constrictions associated with bands of the time.

    The band toured the UK punk circuit for five years releasing two 12" singles and recording a Peel Session for Radio One (11 February 1984). Their first offering The Word of the Womb (released on Conflict's Mortarhate label) dominated the UK Indie Chart during 1984, being kept off the No.1 spot by larger, more mainstream, acts such as The Cure and The Smiths.

    After releasing Funnery In a Nunnery the next year the band effectively split with no new material being recorded. The band's drummer -- who has a degree in Philosophy and Literature -- went on to become a cult DJ under the name Chris Liberator. Bassist Mitch has been playing bass in avant-garde ensembles.

    During its lifetime the band's lineup fluctuated regularly but often included:
    Chris Knowles/Chris Liberator (Drums)
    Mitch Flacko (Bass)
    Paul Harding (Guitar)
    Janet Nassim (Guitar)
    Ruth Ellias (Vocals)
    Karen Amsden (Vocals)
    Elaine Reubens (Vocals)

    After reuniting, they played with the Mekons in 2019. They brought out the album Hagitate on Bandcamp. In October 2021, a concert in Leuven in Belgium was planned, but because of COVIDm had to be postponed to 20 May 2022, opening for Pussy Riot.

    Disclaimer: this biography was gathered automatically through an external music database and could be inaccurate. We don't control the information found here.