Welcome to Anarcho-Punk.net community ! Please register or login to participate in the forums.   Ⓐ//Ⓔ

Boycotting standardized testing in Texas

Discussion in 'Anarchism and radical activism' started by CHARX, Feb 8, 2016.

1. CHARX

CHARX Member Forum Member

Apr 18, 2015

I'm a sophomore in a Texan high school. Texas has a standardized test known as the S.T.A.A.R. test, which my class and I plan on boycotting this year. Of course, just shouting "ANARCHY!" and ditching school is not likely to convince the Texas Education Agency to change their policies, so I am writing a letter to them, which will be delivered on the day of the boycott. Skipping school on the day of the S.T.A.A.R. test will hopefully bring attention to the bullshitedness of the idea of standardized testing. Here's whjat I have of the letter so far: http://www.mediafire.com/view/36s28mngo ... esting.doc

Please give it a read and help me revise it to it's maximum potential of convincing the Texas State Board of Educatio to reconsider their policies regarding standardized testing. - See more at: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=17728#sthash.zjrfeNwy.dpuf

2. SmokeyJoe

SmokeyJoe Experienced Member Experienced member

Jan 17, 2016

It looks pretty good, and I think it's really cool that you're doing this--but you might need to aim your efforts a little higher up the chain. To start with, a lot of that standardized testing stuff is federally mandated, so it might not be up to the board of education to do away with it. Try researching the 'No Child Left Behind Act'. I don't know much about it myself, but there was a lot of outcry when it passed a few years back because people said it would force school districts into standardized testing and do a lot of harm to schools' ability to actually educate kids. Look into what the actual laws and regulations are because the board of education might not be the ones you have to convince.